Can You Unsend a Message on TikTok
  • author Written By Rebecca Adley
  • comments 0 comment
  • calander Publish Date : May 17, 2024
  • calander Last Update : June 23, 2024
  • clock2 9 min read

Have you ever regretted after you send a message to someone on TikTok? If yes, some questions are already in your mind like- can you unsend a message on TikTok?

What happens when someone deletes a message from their end? Will it still be visible to the recipient? So, continue your reading as it covers everything and helps you find out the answer to these questions.

Also, get familiar with a few things that must be kept in mind before you actually unsend a TikTok message from your chat history.

Can You Unsend A Message On TikTok?

Right now, TikTok has over 1 billion users worldwide. Like all the other platforms, this social media platform also has the Direct Message or DM feature. 

Through this, it is possible to get and send messages to others. But, what will happen if you accidentally send a message to someone and then you want to delete it? Can you fix this issue quickly?

Well, the direct answer is NO.

Even if you remove the previous messages from your chat history, the receiver can see the message. It happens because TikTok never gives you the control over someone else’s conversation.

Though, thankfully, individual users can try some effective ways that may help them in distracting the recipient from seeing your sent messages. To know this, jump into the following section.

What Are The Alternative Ways To Distract Recipients From Seeing Your Sent Message On TikTok?

If you somehow sent a TikTok message to someone and wish you could take it back, sadly, you are out of luck. As of now, there is no functional feature available on TikTok.

Even though it is not possible to unsend a message on TikTok, you can try alternative ways so that the recipient can ignore your sent messages. Here are some ways:

1. Send Loads of Other Messages

The best way to make a distraction for your recipient is by sending lots of messages. You can send emojis and stickers or share videos. It will push your previous message that you do not want them to receive out of the recipient’s view.

2. Block them for a Moment

When you block someone temporarily, it will prevent the recipient from seeing your sent messages. But, it is a temporary solution because right after you unblock them, they will again see the message you sent. However, it can save you from immediate embarrassment.

3. Say that Your TikTok Account Has Been Hacked

Even if the recipient already saw your messages, a quick way to handle the situation is to tell the person that your TikTok account has been hacked. It will prove that the message the recipient got has come from a stranger without your knowledge.

So, you can pick any alternative ways to help you tackle the embarrassing situation. But, even if you still think to unsend your messages on TikTok, you must be aware of a few things. Let’s hear that out!

Things to Know About Unsending Messages on TikTok

Almost 29% of TikTok users open their TikTok account daily. So, if the person to whom you send the message also uses TikTok regularly, there is a high chance that the individual will see your message eventually.

So, after thinking about this, if you somehow unsend your messages in a hurry, you should know that they will only be deleted from your side. Also, deleting your TikTok account, muting chats, deactivating your account, etc., can never be a solution.

Why? Let’s understand this here!

1. Deleting Your Messages on TikTok Will Only Delete It for You

When you delete your message or TikTok or unsend messages from your chat box, TikTok will only remove it from your chat history. It will remain visible to the recipient. They can even have access to it and give you a reply.

2. Muting TikTok Messages Is Not a Solution

Many people think of using the muting conversation feature when they send a message accidentally to someone. But, unfortunately, muting conversations only prevents you from receiving notifications for new messages. It never impacts your previous messages’ visibility on TikTok.

3. Deactivating Your TikTok Account Won’t Delete Sent Messages

TikTok account deactivation never removes the traces of your past activity on TikTok. So, naturally, whatever messages you send to a TikTok user will remain intact and never disappear. The other person can still see the sent TikTok messages.

4. TikTok Messages Never Disappear

TikTok does not have a default message disappearing feature. Once a message is sent, it will stay forever unless manually deleted by the sender or the receiver. So, it is better to stay careful when you write a message to any TikTok user.

5. Deleting TikTok Account Won’t Remove Your TikTok Messages

Deleting your TikTok account to remove your TikTok messages is not an effective idea. The recipient will still get the message even if you delete your account. The receiver may not further contact you on TikTok, but the person will have the message.

6. TikTok Never Send Notification to the Recipients When You Delete Messages

Whenever you remove a message from your chat history, the recipient never gets any notification for this. It is good news, but it does not mean that they will never see your deleted messages. They have the access to it.

Read More:

Final Thoughts

In summary, unsending messages on TikTok is possible, but from the senders’ side only. So, it is better to stay safe beforehand by adjusting your privacy settings. You can control who can send you messages and receive your sent messages on TikTok.

But, if you have already sent an embarrassing message to someone, you can try the alternative methods that were discussed before. The methods can give you temporary relief and help you regain control over your conversation.

FAQs

1. Can individual TikTok users unsend a message on TikTok?

No, unfortunately, an individual TikTok user can never unsend a message on TikTok. But, they can distract the recipient from seeing the message by sending random other messages, blocking them temporarily, or saying that their account has been hacked recently.

2. When I delete a message from TikTok, will the other person get the notification?

No, whenever you remove a TikTok message from your chat history, the other person never receives any notification. It happens because TikTok tries to maintain every user’s privacy and never lets other users know about your activity on the platform.

3. How can an individual retrieve a deleted TikTok message?

A TikTok user can find their deleted TikTok messages in the trash folder on TikTok. As the platform stores your deleted messages automatically there, you can retrieve them. But, you must do it within 30 days from the day you delete the message.

4. Can you tell whether someone deleted a sent message from you on TikTok?

No, just like when you delete a message, it does not give the recipient a notification; you will also never know whether someone has deleted a sent message. The message will still be visible to you if they delivered to your account already.

5. How will you know whether someone has already seen your messages on TikTok before you delete them?

TikTok messages have a feature called read receipt which allows you to check if your messages have been viewed by the receiver. But, if the receiver disables the feature, there is no chance for you to know whether they have seen your messages.

 Rebecca Adley
Written By Rebecca Adley

Meet Rebecca Adley, a name synonymous with social media mastery. Her journey began in the heart of a bustling digital marketing agency, where she delved deep into the intricacies of SEO, unraveling the mysteries of online visibility. Blogging soon became her canvas, where her words painted vivid pictures and spun compelling narratives. Entrepreneurs sought her out for her ability to infuse life in...

Read More
Your Comment